About the Commission

Management of Pacific salmon has long been a matter of common concern to the United States and Canada. In 1985, after many years of negotiation, the Pacific Salmon Treaty was signed, setting long-term goals for the benefit of the salmon and the two countries. The Pacific Salmon Commission is the body formed by the governments of Canada and the United States to implement the Pacific Salmon Treaty.

The Pacific Salmon Commission is a sixteen-person body with four Commissioners and four alternates each from the United States and Canada, representing the interests of commercial and recreational fisheries as well as federal, state and tribal governments.

In June of 1999, the United States and Canada reached a comprehensive new agreement (the "1999 Agreement") under the 1985 Pacific Salmon Treaty. Among other provisions, the 1999 Agreement established two bilateral Restoration and Enhancement funds.

The Pacific Salmon Commission

The PSC is an international decision-making organization, composed of four Commissioners (and four alternates) from the United States and Canada. This body handles ongoing administration of the Pacific Salmon Treaty through advice from four regional Panels of fisheries experts.

Organizational Structure

The Pacific Salmon Commission is a treaty-based international organization, one of many regional fishery management organizations (RFMOs) around the world. It is a decision-making body for cooperative management of Pacific salmon.

Contact Us

The Secretariat of the Pacific Salmon Commission is located in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.